Next upcoming Stay Human conference call:

Join a conference call with Issa Amro

Monday, July 24th at 10am Pacific/ 1pm Eastern/ 8pm Jerusalem

Issa Amro, a prominent Palestinian human rights defender, has won multiple awards for his activism, including from the European Union and the United Nations. 

Issa Amro, a prominent Palestinian human rights defender, has won multiple awards for his activism, including from the European Union and the United Nations. 

Last month, 32 U.S. Representatives signed a letter urging the Secretary of State to press Israel to reconsider its charges against Palestinian human rights activist Issa Amro. You can read that letter here.

Issa, who founded Youth Against Settlements, was named a human rights defender by the European Union in 2013. There are 18 charges leveled against him, and he is set to be tried in Israeli military court, which convicts at a 99% rate. 

Congress' response to Issa's case is very encouraging. We want to facilitate a discussion between constituents (you), Congress, and Issa about Palestinian rights and American advocacy. This call is also an opportunity to thank our Representatives for their efforts to support nonviolent Palestinian activists and encourage them to continue doing so.

If you’re interested in joining this call, please fill out this short form to apply to receive log-in information. We are limited to 100 callers so please apply soon. Please note: our screening process is designed to ensure the integrity of this call and we reserve the right to limit attendance.

We look forward to your participation and questions!

For more background information on Issa Amro and his nonviolent activism for Palestinian rights, refer to the articles below:

An overview of the charges brought against Issa Amro
provided by codepink

The Forward - Why Israel should embrace this 'Palestinian Gandhi' - not jail him

The New York Times - Who's afraid of nonviolence?